Aims and objectives

One of the objects of the Association shall be to further and promote the intrinsic, aesthetic and social values of brass bands in Europe. Each year EBBA will plan, organise and supervise the EBBC together with any appropriate events for example conferences, forums, meetings, workshops and masterclasses for european brass bands, musicians, conductors, jury and panel members, and composers. Further EBBA will make efforts to establish contacts with music education institutions to promote better recognition of the brass band within the context of music studies. To promote cooperation between amateur and professional musicians and within this context, to encourage exchanges between european countries will be one of the main activities of the Association.

General Meeting

Members of ordinary and extraordinary General Meetings of the EBBA are the Executive Committee, together with delegates representing the member countries. Delegates shall be appointed by a national brass band federation, a national brass band association or by an organisation representing a brass band movement recognised by the EBBA. Each member country shall only be represented by one delegate who must be a citizen of the country represented by the same.

A General Meeting shall be held at least once a year and shall have sole power: 

  • to amend the Memorandum and articles of association;
  • to appoint and remove directors;
  • to establish music committees and otherwise, to determine the object of busines and to appoint the president and members of such committees as proposed by the Executive committee. The committee president must be an Executive Committee member;
  • to approve the budgets and accounts.
Executive Committee



Ulf E. Rosenberg

Marc De Backer 

Lilli Anne J. Grong

Chris King

Jocelyne Moren

Nigel Stevens

Pierre-Alain Steiner


    Music Commission


    Chris King
    Tel: +44-7595-397-472



    Benjamin Haemhouts

    Frode Rydland

    Oliver Waespi


    Austria – Günther Reisegger

    Belgium – Marc de Backer

    Denmark – Anne Mette Hansen

    England – Nigel Stevens

    France – Ludovic Laurent-Testoris

    Germany – ​Alexander Richter

    Italy – Lito Fontana

    Lithuania – Remigijus Vilys

    The Netherlands – Michiel van der Schaaf

    Northern Ireland – Allan Davison

    Norway – Rune Hannisdal

    Scotland– Carrie Boax

    Sweden – Daniel Möllås

    Switzerland – Jocelyne Moren

    Wales – Graham Howe

    Contest Controllers

    Contest controller

    Matt Piller

    Assistant contest controller

    Arild Aarrestad